UConn Office of Environmental Policy

Promoting sustainability at UConn

Coordinator’s Corner: Meet Dave!

Leave a comment

Hi folks!

I’m Dave, and I am honored to serve as the Assistant Sustainability Coordinator for the UConn Office of Environmental Policy. I hail from New Britain, CT and have worked for the past few years in EH&S roles at an electric utility and a high-technology company. I recently came back to UConn full-time to complete my research on natural hazards research. I hope to combine interests in hydrometeorology with my interest in predictive modeling to create new, useful tools for governments and industry. In addition to my research, I have an interest in all things related to water – wetlands hydrology, flood forecasting and storm surge modeling, contaminant plume modeling, compliance etc.

I’m no stranger to UConn – I completed by Bachelor’s in Environmental Science in 2011 and my Master’s in Environmental Engineering in December 2012.I’m currently a Ph.D. candidate in Environmental Engineering working with Dr. Emmanouil Anagnostou and Dr. Brian Hartman. I’m an alumnus of the Zeta Chi Chapter of Beta Theta Pi, and while I was an undergrad, I was an active member of the UConn OCF and played guitar at various coffeehouses and concerts around campus. You can still find me at open mics across the state, playing guitar during the week with my girlfriend Meredith.

I’m excited to work with OEP for many reasons. There are A LOT of cool projects going on at UConn – the reclaimed water facility, the retrofitting of campus buildings, and the new microgrid – we are at the heartbeat of environmental progress here at UConn. And it’s great to work with such committed and environmentally-conscious staff and undergraduate interns.

Here’s to a great year, I’m looking forward to working with everyone here at OEP!

Dave

Author: UConn OEP

The Office of Environmental Policy at the University of Connecticut brings together students, faculty, staff, and the community for a more environmentally sustainable campus.

Leave a Reply

