UConn Office of Environmental Policy

Promoting sustainability at UConn

Goodbye from Jen

Leave a comment

Hello readers,

Today is my last official day working for the Office of Environmental Policy as the Sustainability Coordinator! I’ve really enjoyed working in support of environmental initiatives at UConn. The Green Game Days will always be a highlight for me, engaging Husky fans from all over with recycling, games, and giveaways. The students who attended our Climate Action Plan summit last fall were an inspiration, sharing their hopes for future developments on campus in support of carbon neutrality. And as always, our Earth Day Spring Fling event was unforgettable, particularly meeting all the local vendors and students who share our ambitions for widespread sustainability.

My short term goals are to finish writing and presenting my thesis, a resource economic study on coastal and marine spatial planning in Long Island Sound. Shortly afterward, I will travel to Belgium for an internship with the Institute for European Environmental Policy for the summer. There is a team of environmental economists working in Brussels in support of biodiversity protection, and I will provide support through marine-focused economics research.

I am excited for the next chapter in my life, but I will always cherish my time at UConn and with the OEP. I would like to thank all of the interns I worked with – Eric, Manisha, the Emilys, Alex, Skyler, Katie, and Meredith – for being so dedicated and making my job so much easier. Thank you to Rich and Cherie for believing in me from the start, and for Paul, Jason, and Stephanie for being so supportive of the sustainability team. And as always, a huge thank you to my fellow coordinator Laura – I couldn’t have done it without you.

Keep in touch everyone. Go Huskies!

Jen

Author: UConn OEP

The Office of Environmental Policy at the University of Connecticut brings together students, faculty, staff, and the community for a more environmentally sustainable campus.

Leave a Reply

